15 Awesome Quotes on Writing

Quotes on WritingSometimes when you’re in a writing rut, a little inspiration or encouragement can give you the boost you need to get going again.

That’s why I love quotes on writing. Whenever my writing battery is on low, I browse through quotes to get recharged and re-motivated.

Whether the quotes inspire, make you laugh, or make you relate, it’s nice to know you’re not alone.

Here are 15 of my favorite quotes on writing.

1. “You have to write the book that wants to be written. And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children.” ― Madeleine L’Engle

2. “Many people hear voices when no one is there. Some of them are called mad and are shut up in rooms where they stare at walls all day. Others are called writers and do pretty much the same thing.” ― Margaret Chittenden

3. “No tears in the writer, no tears in the reader. No surprise in the writer, no surprise in the reader.” ― Robert Frost

4. “The difference between the right word and the almost right word is the difference between lightning and a lightning bug.” ― Mark Twain

5. “You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you.” ― Ray Bradbury

6. “There is too little of what we really like in stories. I am afraid we shall have to try and write some ourselves.” ― C.S. Lewis

7. “Never let the odds keep you from doing what you know in your heart you were meant to do.” ― H. Jackson Brown Jr.

8. “I write for the same reason I breathe–because if I didn’t, I would die.” ― Isaac Asimov

9. “Writing is a socially acceptable form of schizophrenia.” ― E.L. Doctorow

10. “There are three rules for writing a novel. Unfortunately, no one knows what they are.” ― W. Somerset Maugham

11. “The first draft of anything is shit.” ― Ernest Hemingway

12. “You can’t wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club.” ― Jack London

13. “The role of a writer is not to say what we can all say, but what we are unable to say.” ― Anaïs Nin

14. “People on the outside think there’s something magical about writing, that you go up in the attic at midnight and cast the bones and come down in the morning with a story, but it isn’t like that. You sit in back of the typewriter and you work, and that’s all there is to it.” ― Harlan Ellison

15. “I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things that I’m afraid of.” ― Joss Whedon

Do you have a writing quote that inspires you? Share it below!

blog signature

2 thoughts on “15 Awesome Quotes on Writing

Leave a comment